Dedication to Australia's war dead in London

Last Post Ceremony in Canberra to mark centenary of Australia going to war in 1914

Posted on centenarynews.com on 30 July 2014
Share |

The Australian War Memorial's Last Post Ceremony on August 4th 2014 will commemorate the 100th anniversary of the start of the First World War..

Two of the Memorial's Centenary projects will be officially launched at the event in Canberra.

For the Roll of Honour Soundscape, children aged 10-12 from schools across Australia have recorded the names and ages of each of the 62,000 Australians killed during the Great War.

Their voices will be heard in the Western Cloister of the Australian War Memorial's commemorative area.

The names of the dead will also be projected onto the parapet of the Memorial's Hall of Memory every evening for a second initiative called the Roll of Honour Name Projections.

Australia, a self-governing Dominion of the British Empire, joined Britain in entering the First World War on August 4th 1914.

The Australian War Memorial sounds the Last Post at the close of each day. It can be watched live at 4.55pm AEST (7.55am BST, 8.55 CET) here 

Source: Australian War Memorial

Images: Peter Alhadeff

Posted by: Peter Alhadeff, Centenary News